Volksbund Logo Desktop Volksbund Logo Mobil

Osnabrück

The city of Osnabrück is one of 13 member cities that officially founded the German Riga Committee on Tuesday, 23rd May 2000, in the presence of Federal President Johannes Rau in Berlin.

Contact

of the city of Osnabrück for the Riga Committee is

Ms Christine Grewe
Department of Culture
Office for Peace Culture
Marienstr. 5-6
49074 Osnabrück
Tel.: +49 (0)541 / 323-2287
Fax: +49 (0)541 / 323-152287
Email: grewe.c@osnabrueck.de

 

On 11th and 12th December 1941, approximately 500 Jews from the Osnabrück Gestapo district were gathered in the gymnasium of an Osnabrück school near the train station. In mid-November 1941, the people received the message to be ready for "evacuation" to Riga in Latvia on 13th December. On the morning of 13th December, the people were crammed into wagons and deported to the Riga ghetto and concentration camp. There were already about 400 Jews from the Münster Gestapo district on the train, and another 420 were to be added in Bielefeld.

Among the 500 Jews from the Osnabrück Gestapo district were 34 Osnabrückers. Irmgard Ohl, née Heimbach, and Ewald Aul were among the few survivors who related what the deportees had to endure and suffer and how they met their deaths.

The city of Osnabrück accompanies and supports the work of the Riga Committee as far as possible. On the 10th anniversary of the German Riga Committee, the city was represented by its own delegation at the
commemoration ceremony in Riga-Bikernieki on 9th July 2010.

Representatives of the city participated in the First Symposium of the German Riga Committee in Magdeburg from 2nd-4th November 2012.

In addition, it sends representatives of the City Council to the symposia and, under the title "History - Memory - Education", together with the War Graves Commission, hosted the 3rd Symposium of the German Riga Committee on 21st/22nd September 2016.

 

Privacy Settings

Necessary cookies are responsible for the smooth operation of the website, by enabling core functionalities without which our website cannot works properly. These cookies can only be used through your browser settings deactivated.

Provider:

Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge e.V.

Privacy Policy

Volksbund Logo Desktop Volksbund Logo Mobil

Osnabrück

Die Stadt Osnabrück ist eine von 13 Mitgliedsstädten, die am Dienstag, dem 23. Mai 2000, im Beisein von Bundespräsident Johannes Rau in Berlin offiziell das Deutsche Riga-Komitee gründeten.

Ansprechpartnerin

der Stadt Osnabrück für das Riga-Komitee ist

Frau Christine Grewe
Fachbereich Kultur
Büro für Friedenskultur
Marienstr. 5-6
49074 Osnabrück
Tel.: +49 (0)541 / 323-2287
Fax: +49 (0)541 / 323-152287
Email: grewe.c@osnabrueck.de

 

Am 11. und 12. Dezember 1941 wurden in der Turnhalle einer Osnabrücker Schule in Bahnhofsnähe annähernd 500 Juden aus dem Osnabrücker Gestapobezirks versammelt. Bereits Mitte November 1941 erhielten die Menschen die Nachricht, sich am 13. Dezember zur „Evakuierung“ nach Riga in Lettland bereit zu halten. Am Morgen des 13. Dezember wurden die Menschen in Wagons gepfercht und in das Ghetto und Konzentrationslager Riga deportiert. In dem Zug befanden sich schon etwa 400 Juden aus dem Gestapobezirk Münster, weitere 420 sollten noch in Bielefeld hinzukommen.

Unter den 500 Juden aus dem Osnabrücker Gestapobezirk waren 34 Osnabrückerinnen und Osnabrücker. Irmgard Ohl, geborene Heimbach und Ewald Aul gehörten zu den wenigen Überlebenden, die davon berichteten, was die Deportierten erdulden und erleiden mussten und wie sie den Tod fanden.

Die Stadt Osnabrück begleitet und unterstützt soweit möglich die Arbeit des Riga-Komitees. Anlässlich des 10-jährigen Bestehens des Deutschen Riga-Komitees war die Stadt und bei der Gedenkveranstaltung am 9. Juli 2010 in Riga-Bikernieki mit einer eigenen Delegation vertreten.

Vertreter der Stadt nahmen vom 2. - 4. November 2012 am Ersten Symposium des Deutschen Riga-Komitees in Magdeburg teil.

Zudem entsendet sie Vertreter:innen des Stadtrates zu den Symposien und hat unter dem Titel „Geschichte – Gedächtnis – Bildung“ gemeinsam mit dem Volksbund am 21./22. September 2016 das 3. Symposium des Deutschen Riga-Komitees ausgerichtet.

 

Privatsphäre Einstellungen

Notwendige Cookies sind für den reibungslosen Betrieb der Website zuständig, indem sie Kernfunktionalitäten ermöglichen, ohne die unsere Website nicht richtig funktioniert. Diese Cookies können nur über Ihre Browser-Einstellungen deaktiviert werden.

Anbieter:

Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge e.V.

Datenschutzerklärung