Volksbund Logo Desktop Volksbund Logo Mobil

German Riga Committee

The Association of Cities for the Remembrance and Commemoration of the Deportation of Jews

On 23rd May 2000, Federal President Johannes Rau, ex officio also patron of the War Graves Commission, received representatives of 13 major German cities. Together with the President of the German War Graves Commission, they founded the "German Riga Committee" in Berlin, in the presence of representatives of the cities of Riga and Vienna.

This association of cities has the task of remembering the more than 25,000 Jewish citizens who were deported from their cities to Riga in 1941/42 and murdered in their overwhelming numbers in the Bikernieki forest. It is unique in Europe in terms of remembrance culture; the cities of Brno, Prague, Riga, Theresienstadt and Vienna also belong to it. The German Riga Committee also feels connected in its work to the more than 26,000 Latvian Jewish victims of the Riga Ghetto who were murdered on "Riga's Bloody Sunday" (30.11.1941) and in the days following in Rumbula, so that the people deported from the German Reich could be crammed in there.

The first task was the construction of a dignified gravesite and solemn memorial for the victims.
The site in the Bikernieki forest was inaugurated on 30th November 2001, exactly on the 60th anniversary of "Riga's Bloody Sunday" and 60 years after the deportations from Germany began.

The German Riga Committee has now grown to well over 60 cities.

Legal notice regarding the contents of this website 

This publication / website does not serve any commercial interests. In the event that rights holders could not be identified, they are requested to contact the operator of the website. Justified claims will be settled within the usual scope.

Privacy Settings

Necessary cookies are responsible for the smooth operation of the website, by enabling core functionalities without which our website cannot works properly. These cookies can only be used through your browser settings deactivated.

Provider:

Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge e.V.

Privacy Policy

Volksbund Logo Desktop Volksbund Logo Mobil

Deutsches Riga-Komitee

Städtebündnis für das Erinnern und Gedenken an die Deportation von Jüdinnen und Juden

Am 23. Mai 2000 empfing Bundespräsident Johannes Rau, in diesem Amt zugleich Schirmherr des Volksbundes, Repräsentanten von 13 deutschen Großstädten. Gemeinsam mit dem Präsidenten des Volksbundes Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge gründeten sie in Berlin im Beisein von Vertretern der Städte Riga und Wien das „Deutsche Riga-Komitee“.

Dieser in Europa einzigartige erinnerungskultureller Städtebund, dem auch Brünn, Prag, Riga, Theresienstadt und Wien angehören, hat die Aufgabe, an die über 25.000 jüdischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger zu erinnern, die in den Jahren 1941/42 aus ihren Städten nach Riga deportiert und in ihrer überwiegenden Zahl im Wald von Bikernieki ermordet wurden. Das Deutsche Riga-Komitee fühlt sich in seiner Arbeit auch den mehr als 26 000 lettischen jüdischen Opfern des Rigaer Ghettos verbunden, die am „Rigaer Blutsonntag“ (30.11.1941) und in den Tagen danach in Rumbula ermordet wurden, damit die aus dem Deutschen Reich deportierten Menschen dort eingepfercht werden konnten.

Erste Aufgabe war die Errichtung einer würdigen Gräber- und Gedenkstätte für die Opfer.
Die Anlage im Wald von Bikernieki wurde am 30. November 2001 eingeweiht, genau am 60. Jahrestag des „Rigaer Blutsonntag“ und 60 Jahre nach Beginn der Deportationen aus Deutschland.

Das Deutsche Riga-Komitee ist inzwischen auf deutlich über 60 Städte angewachsen.

Mitgliedsstädte

Gedenkstätten

Rechtlicher Hinweis zu Inhalten der Webseite 

Diese Veröffentlichung / Webseite dient keinerlei kommerziellen Interessen. Für den Fall, dass Rechteinhaber nicht feststellbar waren, werden diese gebeten, sich mit dem Betreiber der Webseite in Verbindung zu setzen. Berechtigte Ansprüche werden im üblichen Rahmen abgegolten.

Privatsphäre Einstellungen

Notwendige Cookies sind für den reibungslosen Betrieb der Website zuständig, indem sie Kernfunktionalitäten ermöglichen, ohne die unsere Website nicht richtig funktioniert. Diese Cookies können nur über Ihre Browser-Einstellungen deaktiviert werden.

Anbieter:

Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge e.V.

Datenschutzerklärung